Finals Week Survival Guide

The spring semester is coming to an end and tons of college students like myself are getting ready for finals and writing term papers. I thought I would share some of my tips on how I survive the end of the semester, and hopefully they’ll help you out!

Study tips

1. Find out if your textbook has a website or some sort of online study tool. These come in handy especially if your final exam is cumulative.

2. Schedule a meeting with your professor to go over how you are doing in the class and see if there is anything you need extra help with.

3. Make a study guide or outline of material you’re having trouble with and carry it around.You can also make flash cards if you need to study vocabulary.

4. Meet up with classmates and make a study group. The best way to learn something is to teach it, so take turns going over the material and comparing notes.

5. Take a break! The worst thing you can do is overwork yourself and cram. Try to make and stick to a study schedule. Block out time to take a break in between to run out to Starbucks for a latte or spend some quality time with your dog in the yard. TAKE A BREAK! I’m the worst at taking my own advice when it comes to this, but when I do take breaks, I find that I’m less burnt out and frustrated.

6. If you’re going to sit down and study for a while, make sure you have a light snack and water with you so you don’t need to get up and get distracted by other, more interesting things in the kitchen.

Beauty tips

1. Keep it simple. You don’t want to be stressing about your lipstick or your hair when your studying or taking a test. Go without makeup or keep it super simple with tinted moisturizer, lip balm, and mascara. Throw your hair in a pony tail or bun to keep it from getting in your face. This will also cut down on stress in the morning too.

2. Drink tons of water because stress and lack if sleep can take a toll on your skin. Drinking water will keep your skin hydrated and may keep breakouts at bay or at least minimize how many pop up.

3. Pamper yourself by getting a mani pedi when you’ve finished a final or term paper and you have some time to kill before the next one.

4. Plan out your outfits for the week and lay them out so you don’t need to worry about it in the morning.

Random tips

1. Keep water and a snack with you during a test if your proctor allows it.

2. Don’t sacrifice food or sleep to study. It’s much more important to let your body repair itself when you sleep and get the nutrition you need when you eat enough. This was definitely a bad habit of mine when I was in high school, but I realized that being tired and hungry was only a distraction when I was trying to study or take an exam.

3. Breathe! Like my mom always told me, no test or final paper will define who I am or make me a better person than someone else. I always thought she just didn’t understand how important certain things were, but I realized that what she said was right. I am still the same person I am after the test as I was before. Just take the time to study and be confident in your abilities.

I hope this helps all of you out there who are in the midst of finishing up school or in a stressful situation. Good luck and be sure to post your top tips for success during finals week in the comments section. Thanks for stopping by and come again!

Comment here!

