Fresh and Dewy makeup for spring

It’s finally gotten warm over here on the East Coast, and I’m absolutely loving the spring trend of fresh and dewy makeup. I recently swapped out my full coverage Revlon ColorStay foundation for Revlon’s Nearly Naked foundation and I think I’ve found my foundation for the summer. This tutorial features a full face, eyes, and lips. Enjoy!

I always cleanse and moisturize my face before I apply my makeup. So here I am, fresh faced with no makeup!

Photo on 4-30-13 at 12.14 PM

I start off with my Urban Decay De-slick oil-control makeup setting spray…wow that was a mouthful! Now after that dries, I continue with my Maybelline Dream Lumi Highlighting concealer, and I apply that in a “V” shape under my eyes and on my eyelids. Then I dot a bit of my Maybelline Fit me concealer over it and blend, blend, blend!

Photo on 4-30-13 at 12.15 PM #3Photo on 4-30-13 at 12.18 PM #2

Now, I apply my Revlon Nearly Naked foundation in Fresh Beige with my hands and blend it into my skin. I usually go over the tops of my cheeks with an extra layer because I have some hyper pigmentation to cover there. I also go over my under eye area with a pointed foundation brush just to blend the concealer and foundation a bit more. I also use my Revlon Nearly Naked Pressed powder in light 020 to set my under eye concealer.

Photo on 4-30-13 at 12.20 PMPhoto on 4-30-13 at 12.23 PM #3

If I still have some spots peeking through, I’ll use a small concealer brush to lightly pat on some of my MAC Studio Finish concealer in NC30 to cover them up. Usually I don’t mind if a few peek through since I’m not going for a full coverage look.

Photo on 4-30-13 at 12.27 PM #2

On to the eyes!

I usually don’t wear a ton of eyeshadow on my eyes. I start with an eyeshadow primer like Too Faced Shadow Insurance, and I set that with some of my Revlon Nearly Naked Pressed Powder in Light 020. If I want a really natural look I’ll stop there, but I usually follow up with a shimmery color on the lid and inner corner like Sin from the Naked Palette or All that Glitters by MAC.

IMG_0755IMG_0771

Next, I’ll apply a crease color like Naked or Buck, again from the Naked Palette. To finish off the shadow, I use Virgin (Naked Palette) as a highlight on my brow bone.

IMG_0778

Finally, I’ll line my top lash line with a brown eyeliner, line my waterline with a nude pencil, and add mascara. My favorite is Maybelline Colassal Volume. I usually go through my brows with a bit of ELF brow gel to stick them down. And I’m all done with the eyes!

IMG_0780

On to the Cheeks and lips!

For the cheeks, I’ve been loving the blush Pearlescent Pink, by Wet n’ Wild and I think it gives such a beautiful glow. This blush does have a bit of gold shimmer in it, but when applied to the cheeks, it doesn’t come off sparkly at all. If you opt for a matte blush don’t forget to add highlighter to the tops of your cheekbones, cupid’s bow, and the bridge of your nose. Highlighter will make your face glow and draw attention to the center of the face. For the lips, the lipstick or gloss usually depends on my mood, but lately I’ve been going with either Rimmel’s Nude Delight lipstick or L’Oreal’s Color Caress lip color in Blushing Sequin.

Photo on 4-30-13 at 1.02 PM

Now, just one more spritz of my De-Slick Makeup Setting Spray to keep it all in place. I usually don’t use powder when I go for a natural dewy look unless I think I look greasy. In that case, I will powder lightly on some spots, but I’ll keep the rest of the face dewy.

IMG_0787

Ta-Da! We are done with our fresh, dewy, natural makeup look. I hope you enjoyed this tutorial and leave comments down below about what tutorials you would like to see up next! Thanks for stopping by and come again!

One response to “Fresh and Dewy makeup for spring

  1. Pingback: Drugstore makeup haul | pagebypaigebeauty·

Comment here!

