Spring and Summer Shoes

I am so excited to share with you guys my latest purchase from Nordstrom. I have very small feet so it’s difficult for me to find shoes that fit. I know from experience that it can be a hair-pulling process trying to find a pair of shoes that are age appropriate, comfortable, and stylish. I’ve probably tried everything from stuffing the toes of heels, to tightening the ankle strap just enough to keep my foot in place, to wearing heavy socks that take up room in boots, to shuffling along in a pair of shoes that are just a tad too big. It’s definitely a happy day when I’ve found a pair of shoes, or even a store that carries smaller sized shoes, and I’d like to share the news with my other tiny footed ladies out there! For reference, I’m typically a size 4-4.5 in women’s shoes and a size 2 in girls.

IMG_0829

B.P. “Mindy” Ballet Flat

My first find was in the women’s section and they were actually on sale for $33.46. Since I’ll be interning in a professional environment this summer, I thought it would be a good idea to invest in a pair of black flats that are comfortable and chic. I like that these scrunch a bit so I don’t have to worry about them slipping off my feet. At first these shoes hurt the backs of my feet, but after I broke them in and strategically placed a few bandaids in the back, they were much more comfortable. Overall I think these were a great buy and I can definitely see them getting put to good use!

IMG_0817IMG_0819IMG_0821IMG_0826

Kensie Girl Ballerina Flat

These flats are the most adorable shoes I’ve found all spring! I was shocked to find them in the children’s section because they’re so cute, but I was super excited that it almost guaranteed that they would fit! I ordered a pair in size 2 and they were a perfect match. Needless to say, I’ve been so obsessed with these shoes lately and I wouldn’t be surprised if they find their way into my fashion favorites next month! The neon pink toes make any outfit spring-ready and I love that they make a statement without being too loud. These shoes were $38.95.

20130508-155839.jpgIMG_0812IMG_0814IMG_0816

Here are some links I’ve found for stores that sell smaller sized shoes:

Nordstrom.com

thelittleshoestore.com

theoddslipper.com

payless.com  (check out some of the plain shoes in the kids section or the size 5 shoes in women. Sometimes the shoes are made smaller than typical size 5 shoes. The same goes for other major shoes stores. I just find that I’ve had good luck with payless.)

Tips:

1.Don’t be afraid to ask for the smallest possible size or even look into children’s shoes. You never know what you will find. The flats with the patent pink toe were available in toddler, little kid, and big kid sizes!

2. Make foot insoles and spacers your best friends for those shoes you absolutely must have, but they’re just a little too big. Sometimes they come in a pack and some people have been able to make a shoe a half size smaller with them!

3. Get to know your local shoe repair store.

4. Get on e-mail and coupon lists for the stores you find that have shoes in your size.

5. Look in thrift shops for older shoes from the 40’s and 50’s because not only are they coming back into style, but they were usually made smaller than shoes are now.

6.Spread the word and find out where other people with small feet get their shoes!

I used to get really upset, to the point of tears, when I was in high school because I could never find cute shoes in my size and I always felt like I was much too small for my age. I’ve learned over the years though, that I shouldn’t focus on the parts of my body that I don’t like, but focus on the parts I do like and find the positive in the others. I’ve learned to embrace my small frame and I think I’ve made an art out of finding bargain shoes and clothes in my size! I hope this post helped you ladies who are in the same boat as me and definitely leave your comments below if you have questions or suggestions for other lovely tiny footed ladies. Thanks so much for stopping by and come again!

Comment here!

