April Favorites 2013

I can’t believe it’s already May! This month seemed to just fly right by, so it’s time for another favorites post. I’m not going to do a separate skin care favorites post this month because I’ve only changed up one thing in my routine. I also have some hair products and other random favorites to include this month as well. Enjoy!

Makeup

Revlon Nearly Naked Foundation (Fresh Beige):
I recently switched to this foundation in light of the warmer weather and because I’ve heard so many great things about it. This foundation is perfect for getting a natural look without forgoing a good amount of coverage. A full review of the foundation and powder will be up shortly!

IMG_0899

Revlon Nearly Naked Powder (Light 020):
I purchased this powder at the end of the month and I’ve been using it to set my makeup for about a week now. This powder is super soft and it blends so nicely. I love that it keeps my makeup looking fresh all day long.

IMG_0907

Wet n’ Wild blush (Pearlescent Pink):
This blush is absolutely amazing. I’ve always liked high end blushes, but this Wet n’ Wild blush is the first one I’ve tried from the drugstore. This color is a peachy pink blush with gold shimmer. Although the shimmer definitely shows in this picture, it’s not as noticeable on the skin. The pigmentation is really good and I’ve been using this layered over my next favorite.

IMG_0905

Tarte Amazonian Clay Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess (Shimmery):
I’ve had this bronzer in my collection for a while, but I never started using it until this month. I was always afraid that it was too sparkly, but I decided to give it a shot. While it didn’t blow me away, I do like this bronzer because it isn’t sparkly like I thought it would be. Instead this bronzer is more on the shimmery side and great for giving an overall sun kissed look.

IMG_0902

Nivea Lip Balm in Milk and Honey:
I’ve been absolutely loving this lip balm this month, and I actually just repurchased it when I went to CVS yesterday. At first I was put off by the smell a bit, but it grew on me after a while. The smell isn’t bad, but different from other scented lip balms. I really love how moisturizing this one is and it works great to keep your lips hydrated under super pigmented lipsticks.

P.S. Please excuse my sad attempt at ombre nails…I’m going to need to try this one again haha!

IMG_0901

Hair and skin

Lush solid shampoo:
I had gone by Lush a while back and picked up one of their solid shampoos. I was curious about this product because I had heard so many great things about them, so I decided to get one. The one I got was a volumizing formula and when I first tried it out, I wasn’t really impressed by it so I put it away for a little whole. I picked it up again this month because my hair was feeling a bit dry and limp. I’m definitely happy with how it worked out for me this time. My hair felt noticeably softer, looked much shinier, and I’ve really been loving it all month. This shampoo is called Seanik and here’s a link to the Lush website to find it!

IMG_0920

Tresseme conditioner (Luxurious Moisturizer):
This conditioner has been a long time favorite of mine, but I don’t usually use it regularly. I like to change up my hair care routine a lot to try out new products, but I’ve noticed over the years how much I really love this conditioner because I keep going back to it. My hair always feels soft and has a nice sheen to it.

IMG_0926

Herbal Essence Tousle Me Softly Mousse:
This is yet another product that I’ve been using for years now. I’ve used this mousse to hold my curls and waves since high school and I recently rediscovered it. I love to put this in my hair when it’s wet and then braid it and let it dry. My hair comes out looking wavy and when I take it out the hold lasts pretty well all day.

IMG_0923

Neutrogena facial cleanser:
I was originally looking to stock up on the Simple cleanser, but I didn’t see it in the store I was in, so I decided to try something new. I picked up this Neutrogena cleanser instead and it works really well. I like that it’s gentle and it doesn’t seem to irritate my skin. I think I will eventually go back to my Simple cleanser because I really loved it, but I do like this one a lot too.

IMG_0924

Clothes and accessories:

Coral polka dot pants:

I went into Pacsun one day and just fell in love with these adorable coral/pink polka dot pants. I’ve been obsessed with anything coral, mint, or pastel colored lately so I picked these up and I’ve loved wearing them all month long.

IMG_0932

Pink Sunglasses:

I originally saw these sunglasses at Aldo when I went there to get my friend a birthday present. I was tempted to buy them, but I didn’t because I really didn’t think I needed them. It took me about a week to realize that I just had to have them and I finally caved and bought them. I love the adorable anchor detail on the lens and the pastel pink rims.

IMG_0935    IMG_0937

Turquoise Lacey Top:

I bought this top a little less than a year ago and I fell in love with it once again when I took it out this year. I love the combination of turquoise and lace.

IMG_0928

Vintage White Lacey Scarf:

Staying on the lacy note, I’ve also been loving this white lace scarf my mom gave me a while back. I’m not sure where this scarf came from because it used to belong to my aunt, but it love just throwing it on to add something extra to my outfit.

IMG_0929IMG_0930

Yellow INC Jacket:

I bought this jacket about a year ago on sale at Macy’s and I’ve been loving it for the spring and summer months. This jacket has always been a staple in my wardrobe to liven up any outfit and I’ve been using it non-stop all month long.

IMG_0927

That’s it for the favorites this month. I hope you enjoyed it and feel free to leave a comment telling me what your favorites of May are. Thanks for stopping by and come again!

3 responses to “April Favorites 2013

  1. Nice post 🙂 I have used the Herbal Essence mousse before, but to be honest I really can’t tell a lot of difference between mousses. They are all pretty similar to me. I really would like to try the Revlon foundation, but I already have two bottles of liquid foundation going. I’ll have to wait until I finish one up first!

    • Thanks for reading! I’ve never been too interested in hair products so I haven’t tried a lot of mousses to be able to tell much of a difference either, but I can say that I like it better than one I tried from Garnier because doesn’t make my hair crunchy- a major pet peeve of mine! Definitely give the Revlon foundation a try when you get the chance though. It’s awesome sauce! Thanks for stopping by!

      • Actually, now that you say that, I remember the Garnier mousse being horrible. I’m having this flashback of crunchy curls. lol. I must have blocked it out of my head – painful hair memories ;P

Comment here!

