August Birchbox

20130814-124853.jpg

July was a busy month for me, so when I received my August Birchbox in the mail, it was definitely a much needed treat! I’m catching up on blog posts and trying to get better at Instagram, so hopefully August will be all about getting it together and finding out what works. I want to keep to a schedule and blog regularly again. On to the unboxing!!

20130814-124903.jpg  20130814-124913.jpg

This month’s Birchbox theme is finishing school. All the products in the box are supposed to help you put the finishing touches on your look.

20130814-124938.jpg

When I first peaked into the box, I was a little disappointed to see what looked like another all purpose spray for my hair. I’m more of a makeup junkie, so hair products usually get forgotten about and I already have the Beauty Protector from May’s Birchbox. Anyway, let’s dig in!

20130814-124953.jpg

Although, I was right about the hair product I pulled out, I’m a bit more optimistic about it now because I really like the smell of it and I found that I was actually running out of my Beauty Protector, so I’ll be getting some use out of this after all!

20130814-125007.jpg

I was really excited to find this little gem in my box this month because I have always wanted to try this BB cream every time I would see it in Sephora, but I definitely didn’t want to pay the price for it. Anyway, I’m super excited to try this out and see it it’s worth the full size price! Stay tuned for a review!

20130814-125017.jpg

This sample is also something I’ve seen in Sephora before, but I’ve never been very interested in trying it, mostly because of my fear of fake tanners. I’m not quite sure if I’ll use this, but if I do, you can bet I’ll blog about it! I did notice, however, that it says that this one packet is only good for a “half body application.” I considered my over all physical size and I could possibly get away with an entire body application because I’m so small, but I can’t imagine that a regular sized adult person would just want half of his/her body tan. Am I alone in my puzzled questions?

20130814-125044.jpg

Ohh! my favorite part! I really love that Birchbox adds this extra element of surprise to their boxes! The packages are adorable too!

20130814-125053.jpg

Inside I found…FOOT WIPES!!! I have to say that this is a little odd to be including in a “finishing touch” themed box, but I’m actually quite happy I have them. Strangely enough, I have overactive sweat glands in my hands and feet, so I tend to feel super yucky sometimes when I’m walking around in flats, so these wipes might actually come in handy for me.

20130814-125101.jpg

Last, but not least is this lipstick! I’ve never tried this brand before so I’m really excited to give it a shot. I’m not sure if this color is going to work for my skin tone because it’s so orange, but I’m willing to give it a shot anyway. I think it might suit me better once I have a tan so I’ll probably bring it with me on vacation to try out.

20130814-125109.jpg  20130814-125118.jpg  20130814-125131.jpg

At the very bottom of the box were a couple of coupons for Ann Taylor, so I am really excited to put these to good use! Maybe it’ll lead to my next fashion haul!

20130814-125140.jpg

That’s it for my August Birchbox! I’m quite happy with the samples I got, so hopefully I can do a full review on a few of them in the future. Although I really like Birchbox, I’m taking a break from my subscription so that I can try some others. First up on my list is Ipsy because I’ve seen quite a few really nice Ipsy reviews and I want to get in on the fun too! Stay tuned for my first Ipsy review, which I’ll link here once I do it! Thanks for reading and I’ll talk to you all very soon!

Comment here!

