Adventures in the Kitchen: Morning Breakfast Cups

Hello! Today I’m starting a new series of posts called Adventures in the Kitchen. I’ve decided to share my adventures in cooking and baking. Baking has always been a passion of mine, but I haven’t been able to do it as much in the past few months. I’m hoping to change that with this series, so I can get back into baking and cooking. I hope you enjoy it and let me know if you have any requests!

20130829-124513.jpg

As a college student, it’s always hard to make sure I eat breakfast in the morning, so I’ve started baking morning breakfast cups. They take some time and preparation the night before, but they’re quick to warm up and super easy to eat on the go!
What you will need:

  • Eggs
  • Some variation of cooked meat (You can skip this if you don’t eat meat. I like to use bacon)
  • Shredded/ Grated Cheese (Any kind you like. I typically use the cheese I request on an omelet, but I’ve used some more expensive artisan cheeses before and they’ve worked fine for me.)
  • Cooked Vegetables (I’ve always forget to throw vegetables in, but I’m sure anything you put in an omelet would work)
  • Teflon Muffin/Cupcake tin (I think they’re better in a muffin tin)
  • Pam or something to grease the tin
  • Fork
  • Mitts

Quick Tip: Check your leftovers for some yummy pre-cooked meats and vegetables to add to your breakfast cups. Last night’s meatballs, all chopped up, could serve as a hearty addition. Get creative, but make sure the leftovers are still good first!

Let’s get cooking!

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Make sure all meat and vegetables are cooked and ready to go!
  2. Grease the muffin/ cupcake tin. Make sure it’s greased really well, or it’ll be a pain to clean up.
  3. Crack one egg into each well of the tin.
  4. Chop up whatever meats and vegetables you will be using, and add a generous amount to each egg-filled well. Make sure it isn’t spilling over because that will make for an awful mess in the oven!
  5. Add some shredded or grated cheese that you like.
  6. Get your mitts on and pop those babies right into the oven!
  7. Bake them for about 15 to 20 minutes. The tops will rise a little bit, but you will know they’re ready when they start to brown along the edges and on the top. Make sure to check on them periodically anyway.
  8. Ta Da! 15 to 20 minutes later you have some yummy morning breakfast cups ready to help you start your day!

Here’s a look at a few morning breakfast cups I made.

20130815-101444.jpg

I experimented a bit with the eggs by scrambling the two on the left before pouring them into the muffin tin. The rest were cracked and plopped right in. Both kinds of muffins taste great, so experiment and let me know which ones you like best. I personally like the ones that weren’t scrambled because they look neater…yes I am a perfectionist!

Here’s a closer look! Mine are kind of tiny because I used a cupcake tin, but they come out just as delicious!

20130829-124513.jpg 20130829-124519.jpg

Let me know how your morning breakfast cups come out by leaving a link to your blog in the comments or instagram the pictures to me at #pbpkitchenfun. Also comment with any requests you may have!

That’s all for today’s installment of Adventures in the Kitchen. Check back next week for another tasty treat! Until then, thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Comment here!

