Blogtober Fest: Tutorial Thursday!

I definitely want to do more makeup tutorials for you this month, especially since it’s leading up to Halloween! Anyway, today I want to share an eye look that I’ve been absolutely OBSESSED with lately. Since the weather has gotten colder, I’ve been loving deeper colors on the eyes and lips. I was inspired by a few of my favorite Youtubers to create this look. I think it seems to mimic changing leaves. I hope you like it, and let’s jump right in!

20130925-233756.jpg

What you need

Tools:

  • Eye shadow base (Choose whichever one you want! I used Too Faced Shadow Insurance)
  • Fluffy blending brush
  • Crease brush
  • Flat shading brush
  • Small angled liner or brow brush

Shadows:

  • Blending color that is 1-2 shades darker than your skin tone and a matte highlight (I used Urban Decay’s Naked and a cream color from a Lancome palette I had laying around)
  • Burgundy or cranberry colored shadow (I used Inglot 450, but anything that has a deep reddish-purple tone would work well)
  • Gold color (I used Inglot 25. Urban Decay Half Baked would work the same)
  • Deep plum color (I used Bobbi Brown Eggplant)
  • Dark eggplant pencil liner and matching gel/ liquid liner (I used Urban Decay in Rockstar and Wet n Wild plum) * I like to layer liquid over pencil, but you don’t have to.

How to get the look!

  1. Prime your eyelids and apply the Blending color with a fluffy brush to your crease.
  2. Using the flat shader brush, apply the burgundy shadow to the the entire lid, but leave the inner corners blank. Build the color up to your desired intensity.
  3. Flip the flat shader brush over and pick up a small amount of the gold shadow. Apply this to the inner corners of the eyes and in the inner part of the lower lash line.
  4. Using the crease brush, pick up some of the deep plum color and apply that just to the outer corners of the eyes. Sweep this shadow slightly into the crease, but keep it mostly on the outer part of the lid. Add more color to make the look more dramatic.
  5. Take the deep plum shade on an angled brush and apply it to the outer half of the lower lash line towards the middle.
  6. Using the same brush, pick up some of the burgundy shade to mix with the purple color and apply that to the middle of the bottom lash line.
  7. Take your eggplant pencil liner and draw a line close to your lash line, starting from where the gold fades to burgundy, all the way to the outer edge. Flick the liner up a bit to make a slight wing.
  8. To add a bit more drama, line the very outer corner of the lower lash line with the eggplant pencil liner.
  9. Curl your lashes, add mascara, and Rock it!

Optional: You can switch out the purple liner on the top lash line for black, and you can add falsies for a night out if you want too.

20130925-233111.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial, and let me know what you would like to see next in the comments below. I’m thinking of sharing my current foundation routine and a more natural fall eye look. Thank’s for stopping by, and have an awesome day!

πŸ™‚

12 responses to “Blogtober Fest: Tutorial Thursday!

      • I suggest all of them! haha. The noble collection is AMAZING, if you can still get those I definitely would! They are a different texture and are just so buttery with incredible pigmentation. Also my favourite shade ever is pearl #395. It is the most amazing highlight shade you will ever use!

  1. Pingback: BLOGTOBER DAY 5 | Wise Without Wisdom·

  2. Pingback: BLOGTOBER DAY 6 | Wise Without Wisdom·

  3. Pingback: BLOGTOBER DAY 20 – Ghost Stories | Wise Without Wisdom·

Comment here!

