November Favorites

Another month has gone by and finals have officially started for me. Sorry I’ve been completely MIA lately, but November was pretty stressful because of work and school, but I’ve been trying a TON of new products so I have a slew of reviews and possibly and empties post coming your way soon. As soon as my papers are done and my finals all taken care of, I’ll be back to my regular posting schedule! Thanks for sticking with me! Let’s jump right in!

20131201-202840.jpg

First up are my face products:
All these products have helped me stay looking human even when I’m not getting enough sleep or taking care of myself like I should! From a bronzy glow, to rosy cheeks, and bright eyes, these products have definitely been crutches for me the past few weeks. Anyway here they are!

20131201-202848.jpg

The C.O. Bigelow Power Berry Mask is amazing for the colder months. I mentioned this mask in my very first favorites post, and I just rediscovered it this month. This mask is great for moisturizing my tired, dehydrated, winter skin, and I absolutely love how my face feels when I take it off. I’ll usually use this at night right before I go to sleep, and I always pair it with a super moisturizing face cream so I can wake up to silky smooth skin. It also helps my foundation go on so much nicer and I noticed that it looks really seamless and natural too!

20131215-141916.jpg

I got this Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer for my birthday, and I featured it in my Sephora Birthday Haul here. This bronzer smells so good and I’m not usually a fan of products that smell like food, but this bronzer honesty smells exactly like hot chocolate! How much more festive could you get?! Anyway, I’ve been loving using this bronzer to contour my face. It creates really natural looking shadows and helps add dimension to my face.

20131215-142805.jpg

I received this Pixi bronzer in my Ipsy glam bag, and the color is in “Barely Suntouched.” At first I was pretty disappointed because it swatched so light on my skin, but when I was doing my makeup one day, I decided to try  layering it on top of my blush as a subtle highlight. I was pleasantly surprised to find that I actually really liked the outcome, and I’ve been loving using this bronzer as a highlighter. I don’t typically find bronzers that are too light for me, but I’m glad this Pixi one worked out! I definitely recommend checking it out.

20131215-142756.jpg

I am so happy that I picked up this ELF blush in my last drugstore haul. I fell in love with it the first time I used it and I haven’t looked back since! I absolutely love this blush to pieces, and I would recommend it to everyone! This is the very first blush that I’ve tried from ELF, and I am so impressed by the quality of it. The pigmentation is great and it lasts really well throughout the day. I actually placed an order on eyeslipsface.com recently to try two more blushes! This blush is in the color Mellow Mauve, and I adore it! I was looking for a berry or mauvey plum blush for the winter, and this blush definitely fits the bill. I can’t wait to get my ELF order so I can share all the goodies I purchased!

20131215-142749.jpg

Finally, to wrap up my face favorites, I have another tube of my Maybelline Instant Age Rewind concealer in Neutralizer. I think this is the very first concealer, drugstore or high end, that I’ve repurchased. I absolutely love the coverage and longevity of this concealer, and it’s perfect for sleep deprived college students like myself! This baby covers like a dream and as long as you’ve hydrated your under eye area, it doesn’t cake or crease. I usually use this concealer under my eyes, but I also use it as a foundation on spots where I need coverage if I don’t feel like doing a full face. Lately my skin has been acting up and it’s gotten really dry, so this concealer has started to crease and look a bit wonky by mid-day, but I’m on the hunt for a moisturizer that will work well with it and give my face the hydration it needs. Nonetheless, this concealer is awesome! By the way, I take the little puff off the top because I think I get a better look and fuller coverage if I apply it with my fingers and blend it in with a Beauty Blender.

20131215-145250.jpg

Here are some swatches of the products I mentioned. From left: Chocolate Soleil Bronzer, Mellow Mauve Blush, and Barely Suntouched Bronzer

20131201-202913.jpg

If you read my blog often, you know that I love my lip products! This month I was OBSESSED with dark lips, especially purple lips. I’ll do a post on my go-to fall/winter makeup look soon and link it here to show you what I mean. I just think that dark lips look so beautiful for fall and winter because it adds drama to your look without looking super over done…well at least I think so. Anyway, on with it!

20131201-202854.jpg

First up are a couple of lip liners that I’m loving at the moment, and will continue to love all through December. The first one is a Jordana lip liner called “Cabernet.” This lip liner is the perfect dark wine color that goes perfectly with a range of colors in the wine, deep red, purple, plum family of lipsticks. I especially love this lip liner paired with my Sephora lip stain in Endless Purple. The second one is a lip liner from NYX called “Plum.” As the name suggests, it’s a plum color that reads a bit more like a deep pink. Although it isn’t what I would consider an ideal “plum” color (for some reason I imagine a true berry purple…like the fruit), I really like using it specifically with my Milani lipstick in Sangria.

20131215-145625.jpg

Next up are my lipsticks! I am loving my Sephora lip stain in Endless Purple for so many reasons! I will do a full review and link it here when it’s up because I can’t possibly list all the reasons why I love this lip stain now haha! Anyway, it can be a little tricky to apply, but I love how it looks and it really takes my look to the next level in just a minute. The lasting power of this lip stain is also incredible. I’ve worn it for around 8 hours straight and it’s barely faded, and that’s including eating and drinking!

20131215-145801.jpg

I also love my Milani lipstick in Sangria for when I want a dark lip that is just a bit more wearable because the Sephora lip stain really is a straight up PURPLE! My only qualm with this Milani lipstick is the lasting power and that it starts to look a little patchy once it begins to wear off. As long as I have the lipstick and a mirror handy though, fixing it is no problem.

20131215-145857.jpg

I’m so happy that my next favorite lip product is from my November Ipsy Glam Bag. This lipstick is called Vivacious and it’s from Michelle Phan’s new cosmetics line called Em Cosmetics and I absolutely adore it! This lipstick is a sheer bright purple and I usually wear it when I’m wearing minimal makeup, but I still want to add a pop of color to my lips. I like that it’s moisturizing and it lasts for a good amount of time on my lips as long as I’m not eating.

20131215-150000.jpg

Finally, I’ve been using my Lush Mint Julips lip scrub religiously all month long to make sure my lips are exfoliated and ready for any and all the lip products I want to wear. It’s a little time consuming to make sure I exfoliate my lips every other day, but I definitely think it’s worth it because I usually don’t have to worry about my lips looking dried out because of my matte lipstick or lip stain. I always pair this lip scrub with my favorite moisturizing lip salve by C.O. Bigelow. I have an entire post dedicated to how I keep my lips soft and moisturized here, if you want to check it out!

20131215-221719.jpg

Here are some swatches of my lip products: From left: Milani Sangria, Em Cosmetics Vivacious, Sephora Endless Purple, NYX Plum, Jordana Cabernet.

20131201-203214.jpg

Now all eyes on my last batch of favorites! Since I’ve been preparing for finals and such this month, I haven’t experimented much with eye makeup, but there are a few awesome products that I’ve used to make it look like I spent much more time on my makeup then I actually did!

20131201-203207.jpg

First up, is my NYX Love in Paris Palette in Merci Beucoup. I featured this palette in my last favorites post and I just can’t seem to keep my hands off of it! I think it has some of the most gorgeous shadows for fall and winter and it’s been an amazing little palette to have and create both neutral and dramatic looks. My favorite shadows to use have cute little hearts on them and swatches will be shown at the bottom. I used this palette for the eye look I wore on Thanksgiving, so if you would like to see a tutorial on that, please let me know!

20131215-220728.jpg

After I purchased the NYX Penny pigment, I’ve been hooked on them! My latest obsession is with this little beauty in the color Sky Pink. It’s so beautiful as an all over lid color and inner corner highlight. The picture of the swatches at the bottom definitely don’t do it justice. I’ll put together a look and brave the cold to get some good pictures in sunlight so I can show you how beautiful this pigment really is. I love wearing this pigment with just a hint of light brown in the crease for definition, on days when I really don’t feel like spending time on my makeup.

20131215-215756.jpg

Finally, I have this NYX retractable eyeliner in Golden Olive. I was looking for something a bit different one day and when I came across this beautiful eyeliner on the NYX website, I had to pick it up. It’s a gorgeous mossy green with golden undertones that looks amazing on the lower lash line. Recently I’ve really liked pairing it with the Sky Pink Pigment for a subtly colorful eye look. It seems like it might be more appropriate for spring, but I’m really loving it right now!

20131215-215808.jpg

Here are some swatches of the products. From Left: NYX palette (middle of bottom row, top row right, top row left, middle of middle row…so smack dab in the center of the palette) NYX eyeliner in Golden Olive NYX Pigment in Sky Pink.

20131201-203220.jpg

Those are all my favorites for the month of November. I didn’t realize that a good portion of my products were from NYX until I started writing the eyes section, but I promise that as always, my reviews are genuine and not sponsored. I actually placed an order to NYX in October and I didn’t get a chance to post a haul. I hope you enjoyed reading about my current makeup obsessions, and if you would like an in depth review of any of these products, feel free to leave a comment down below, and I’ll get on it as soon as I can! Thanks for stopping by and I’ll talk to you later!

Comment here!

