Favorites of the Year: Best of 2013

Happy New Year everyone!!! I hope you all had an amazing New Year celebration and that you’re excited for what 2014 holds. I usually do a monthly favorites post around this time, but I decided to wrap up 2013 with a favorites of the year post. These are products that I’ve been using for a good amount of the year and that I absolutely love. I haven’t mentioned a few of these products in a while just because I’ve been trying to get more use out of other things I have in my collection, but the products I’m about to share with you are ones that I’ve gravitated back to all year long.

Eyes

20140102-115328.jpg

I’m sure it comes as no surprise that my Naked palette is one of my yearly favorites. There was a time during this year when I didn’t use any other eyeshadows other than the ones in this palette! I picked up this NYX Love in Paris eyeshadow palette in Merci Beaucoup really early in the fall, and it kicked my Naked palette right out of it’s spot for the last few months of the year! I haven’t used any other shadows for my daily makeup except the ones in this palette, and I love that it has mostly neutral colors with a pop of cranberry and peach. I’ve been using Maybelline mascaras since I started wearing makeup back in high school and nothing has changed! I discovered the Colossal Cat Eyes mascara last year around November and I’ve kept a tube in my rotation all year long. I absolutely love the original Colossal mascara as well, but this one focuses more on length than on volume, so it’s perfect for daily use. Finally, I picked up this NYX Slide on eyeliner in Jet Black and I really really love it. It has a very similar consistency to the Urban Decay Glide on pencils, and I really like how well it stays on my eyes.

Face

20140102-115319.jpg

My favorite powder for this year is definitely the ELF High Definition Powder because it really mattifies my face without making my makeup look cakey. It was hard to pick a favorite foundation because I love trying out new foundations all the time, and I’m constantly switching them out for different occasions, but I finally settled on my L’Oreal True Match Lumi foundation because it leaves my skin looking really perfected and glowy without looking oily. I gravitated back to this foundation throughout the year when I wanted a natural look that still provided a good amount of coverage. You can check out a full review of this foundation here. My two favorite concealers of the year are definitely the Rimmel Wake me up concealer and the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind concealer. The Rimmel one is great for everyday looks and it does a great job of brightening under the eyes. Here‘s the full review. I love using the Maybelline one to cover dark circles and substitute as foundation when I’m in a hurry or I want a light coverage look. Here‘s the full review. I discovered the NYC Sunny bronzer this year and I was kicking myself for not picking it up earlier. It works really well as an all over bronzer and as a contour color as well. Picking a blush was difficult too, but I settled on my Ripe for Love blush from MAC’s temperature Rising collection because I just couldn’t put it down even though summer had passed by months ago. Here’s the full review.

Lips

20140102-115313.jpg

This year, I acquired a TON of new lip products, but it was surprisingly easy to pick my favorites. First up, is my lip stain in Endless Purple by Sephora. I loved this color so much all throughout fall and the later part of the year, so I couldn’t possibly leave it out. I’ll link a full review of it here when I put it up. Next is my NYX butter gloss in Apple Strudel. I don’t typically like gloss, but this one won me over in a heartbeat. I loved layering this gloss over tons of nude and pink lipsticks all year long. Here‘s the full review. This next lipstick is one that I’ve raved about since I picked it up early last spring. I think it’s just the absolute perfect pink-nude color for everyday wear. Finally I had to include my holy grail lip balm because I discovered it early this year and I’ve been addicted ever since.

Brushes

20140102-115259.jpg

I don’t typically buy tons of brushes because usually when I find some that I really like I stick with them, but this year I was trying a bunch of new brushes so I decided to pick a few that I use almost every day or at least everyday I wear makeup. I can’t wait for IMATS this year because I’m so excited to buy an entire line of Bdellium brushes. I own four of them, but the three pictured are the ones I use the most. I love how soft and easy to clean they are, so I’m definitely going to be picking up more. The brush pictured underneath is a brush from Target’s generic brand Up and Up and I love it to pieces. This brush is great for blending colors out and into the crease.

Nails

20140102-115252.jpg

Finally, my last yearly favorite is this OPI palette from the Euro Centrale collection from last year, and I love it so much. Between the sassy names and the beautiful colors, I’ve found that you can’t go wrong with OPI nail polishes. This color is called You’re such a Budapest, and it’s a dusty lilac purple that looks almost periwinkle in some lighting. It has a small amount of shimmer in it, but it barely transfers to the nail so it ends up looking like a beautiful cream shade. Here’s a swatch from the summer.

That’s all for my Best of 2013 beauty favorites! I can’t wait to see what 2014 will bring and I hope you all had an amazing new year celebration. I also want to take a minute to thank each and every one of my readers for being so incredibly supportive of Page by Paige Beauty. You are the reason I love to blog and I’m truly thankful for all the lovely friends I’ve made in the blogging community. With that said, I wish you all the best for the coming year and if you have a yearly favorites post, leave a link to your blog below or list them in the comments section! I love being nosy and finding out what other people have been loving all year long!

4 responses to “Favorites of the Year: Best of 2013

Comment here!

