Review: Stila In The Moment Palette

Hello Lovelies! My sister bought me the Stila In the Moment palette for Christmas and I really like it so far. I believe Stila has a few of these types of palettes that are designed around a specific color range and they are all really beautiful. My sister actually received the In the Garden palette as a secret santa gift and it’s absolutely gorgeous as well…I might have to sneak a swatch sometime soon and share it with you! Anyway, I’ve gotten a chance to use my palette a few times since I got it, and there really is an endless amount of gorgeous looks you can create. I’ll definitely have a few follow up posts featuring some of my favorite go-to looks using the beautiful eyeshadows in this palette.

20140112-142234.jpg

20140112-142229.jpg

Packaging: This palette is very lightweight and it has a magnetic closure that isn’t very strong. It seems to be made from thin cardboard like the Naked palette, but I think for an eyeshadow palette it’s sturdy enough that it won’t fall apart, but it’s definitely a good idea to be careful not to drop this palette on a hard surface. Although it seems really light, I like how sleek it looks and I think it would be great for traveling. I also love the adorable little quote on the inside of the lid and the eyeshadows have really cute names that go with the theme of “In the Moment.”

20140112-142252.jpg

(Top row: Instinct, Impulse, Glance, Improvise, Catalyst

Bottom Row: Desire, Wonder, Spontaneous, Whim, Captivate)

Product: This palette comes with ten eyeshadows and a full sized smudge stick waterproof eyeliner in the color Tetra. The eyeshadows range from neutral basic colors to deeper more dramatic colors. There seems to only be one matte eyeshadow that would work well as a blending or highlighting color depending on your skin tone and the look you are trying to achieve. Although I would prefer more matte colors, I still think the eyeshadows are still really beautiful and that they work very nicely together.

20140112-142246.jpg

20140112-142240.jpg

Here’s a closer look at the eyeshadows. The first four eyeshadows are the perfect neutral, light colors to use for an everyday look. The last four eyeshadows a great for a more dramatic smokey night time look, and the two middle colors are great to use for either day or night. I love how all the colors in this palette work really beautifully together, and that they are all very nicely pigmented. I love using the eyeliner that is included in this palette either with the eyeshadows to pull an entire look together or as a substitute for black eyeliner on days when I feel like wearing something just a bit different.

20140112-143412.jpg

Above are swatches of the colors in the same order they are arranged in the palette. As you can see, the only matte color is the very first shadow in the second row of the palette (desire). It’s a really beautiful pale pink shade that looks great applied to the entire lid, used as a matte highlight, or as a blending color. It’s just a perfect multitasking color that works with everything. I think my favorite shade in this palette is probably the color “Wonder” which is the second one in from the left in the bottom row. It’s a gorgeous peachy pink shimmery shade that looks beautiful blended all over the lid for a hint of color.

Bottom Line: This palette is great quality and a really good value. I believe that these palettes retail for $39.00 on the Sephora website in the U.S. I definitely recommend taking a look at them and swatting them, if you get a chance, in store to check out the colors. The pigmentation is great and the colors are really well coordinated. Two thumbs up from me!

I hope you enjoyed my review of the Stila In the Moment eyeshadow palette. I’ll definitely be posting a few tutorials using this palette in the future, so stay tuned for those. Have you picked up any of these Stila palettes, or have you been eyeing any lately? Let me know what you think of them below! Thank you, as always, for reading!

One response to “Review: Stila In The Moment Palette

Comment here!

