Magnificent March Favorites

20140403-002741.jpg

It is finally April and finally spring! Oh how I’ve counted the days! This winter was especially brutal, so I’m happy to welcome spring in with open arms. This month I have quite a lot of favorites that I’m really excited to share with you all.

20140406-230339.jpg

First up are my face products. This month I actually got around to trying out a foundation that I had bought a couple of months ago, but I ended up forgetting about it. I finally caved and hopped right on the Covergirl Stay Fabulous 3 in 1 foundation bandwagon, and like almost every other cult favorite product I’ve tried, I’m loving it! I have never been a huge fan of Covergirl makeup because of some unfortunate experiences in high school, but curiosity eventually got the best of me and I wanted to find out what all the fuss was about over this foundation. While I won’t say its a holy grail product, I do really like it. If you want a full review of this foundation let me know in the comments. Suffice it to say, I’ve liked this foundation so much that I’ve actually had a hard time picking other ones over it.

20140406-230503.jpg

Next is a concealer that I probably should’t bother mentioning because I practically include it in almost every favorites post I do! I’m almost out of my beloved Rimmel Wake me up concealer, and I already have a backup waiting. This concealer is amazing for covering and brightening dark circles and covering minor discoloration in the skin. I absolutely love using this as an all over face product with a bit of powder for a super minimal makeup routine. I really can’t say enough great things about this concealer, except that if it ever gets discontinued, I’ll be very sad and I’ll probably go broke trying to buy up any that are left!

20140406-230457.jpg

Speaking of discontinued products, I’m so so sad that I just recently started to love this powder. Once again, I’ve heard so many great things about the Maybelline Dream Matte Powder and I decided to pick it up a few months ago. It sat in my drawers and got tossed around until one day I was in a rush and reached for it to set my Rimmel Wake me up concealer all over my face. I was astonished at the finish! My skin looked so flawless, and my boyfriend even commented on how nice my skin looked! Now that’s when I know I’ve found an awesome product!

20140406-230450.jpg  20140403-002836.jpg

 

(From Left: Mellow Mauve, Dollface, Berry Amore)

This month I discovered a blush combination that I’ve really been liking a lot. I’ve mentioned my Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Dollface a bunch of times in my favorites, but I really do love how it looks on the skin and it just seems to give a really nice natural light pink flush. This month I’ve been pairing it with my ELF blush in Mellow Mauve and my Milani blush in Berry Amore. I’ve never tried to layer blushes before, but I ended up trying it out and loving it. I like to apply my Mellow Mauve blush on the apples of my cheeks and blend it back on to my cheek bones first. Then I apply my Dollface blush just to the apples of my cheeks for a brighter pop of color, and I finish off with my Berry Amore blush as a very light highlight right on the tops of my cheek bones. Then, of course, I blend everything out with a fluffy brush. I really like the look of these blushes combined, and they all look really pretty on their own. I’m not a huge fan of shimmer blush because I like to be able to control where the shimmer goes and I’ve noticed that every time I use a shimmery blush like the Milani Berry Amore, the little glitters seem to get everywhere, so I don’t usually use that blush alone. I really like it as a highlighter though.

20140403-002802.jpg  20140403-002826.jpg

 

(From Left: Ricepaper, Omega, Woodwinked, Brun)

Next up are the eye products. I placed an order for some new MAC eyeshadows not too long ago to complete my quad. The eyeshadows I ordered we’re Ricepaper and Omega and now I have a complete MAC neutral quad that I’m loving! I’m already planning out which eyeshadows I want to purchase for my MAC 15 pan palette because let’s face it, MAC eyeshadows are like chips, you can’t just have one…or in my case be content with just four. Anyway, I’ve been using this palette for my brows and my everyday eyeshadow look, and I’m loving it! I’ve been using Brun to fill in my brows, Ricepaper as an all over lid color, and either Woodwinked or Omega in my crease. I think I may replace omega with a warmer medium brown because I tend to use warmer shadows more often in my crease and Omega is quite cool toned, but for now I’m really liking the palette. I also sometimes use Brun in my outer “v” or as an eyeliner to deepen a plook a little bit. When Ulta was having their 21 days of beauty promotion, I picked up the Lights Camera Lashes mascara by Tarte for half of the regular price and I’m so happy I did. I own the waterproof formula mainly because I love all things nautical and the little anchor detail was just too cute to pass up, so I splurged $20 on a mascara for the adorable packaging…yes I know I have a problem and I admit it! Anyway, I remember trying a sample of the Lights Camera Lashes mascara a while ago and I really liked it, so I thought it would be the perfect time to pick up the full size at half the price. I’ve been using this mascara all month long, and I’m really loving the length and volume it builds up in my lashes.

20140403-003323.jpg  20140403-003303.jpg

 

(From Left: Julianne’s Nude, Doutzen’s Nude, Brave, and Peaches and Cream)

Finally, I have lip products and a nail polish. I’m not sure if you can tell, but I sort of went a little crazy with lipsticks this month. First up is my Balmy Nights lip balm from Victoria’s Secret. My best friend got this for me as part of my Christmas present and I really love using it at night before I go to sleep. It has a really refreshing mint smell and it keeps my lips moisturized all night long! The next two lipsticks are from the L’Oreal Privee Collection. I have two posts on this collection so I’ll link them here and here. My two favorites are Doutzen’s nude and Julianne’s nude. Both lipsticks are nudy pink shades that go perfectly with any makeup look I want to wear. Next is a MAC lipstick that I bought in the beginning of the month. The color I got is Brave and it’s one I don’t hear people talk about often and I have no idea why! The color is a really gorgeous pink that adds just a little bit of extra color to the lips. I am so addicted to MAC lipsticks now that I’ve finally tried them! I’m really excited for their summer collection because I’m hoping to pick up some really bright and unique colors. My last lip product is a lip gloss from NYX called Peaches and Cream. I’ve included my absolute favorite NYX Butter gloss in Apple Strudel in a ton of posts, but I always forget about this one. Peaches and Cream is a brighter color that’s perfect for layering over nude and pink lipsticks for an extra pop of color. I also love the way it looks on its own because it’s so pigmented. I’m really excited to use this lip gloss a lot more now that the weather is warmer.

20140403-003251.jpg

This month I have a few non-makeup favorites that I’m really excited to share. I recently placed an order to Loft for some new work clothes and before I checked out I added a pair of sunglasses to make my order qualify for free shopping. Usually sunglasses tend not to fit me very well, but I was very pleasantly surprised. The ones I ordered are cat eye style sunglasses with a tortoise shell design, and they fit me so well! I think these are going to be my favorite sunglasses of the season!

20140406-231534.jpg

If you follow me on Instagram, you might have seen these booties about a month ago when I got them. I absolutely love these booties so so much! I’ve been dying for a pair of ankle boots for about a year now and I’m really happy I decided to splurge and pick them up. I love how they can take a simple outfit from casual to dressy, and I’m really excited to wear these with some of my spring and summer dresses.

That’s all for my March favorites! What we’re you loving during the month of March? Let me know in the comments below! Thanks for stopping by and have an awesome week!

Comment here!

