Dad’s Birthday Pound Cake

Yesterday was my dad’s birthday, and he asked me to bake him a toasted almond and vanilla pound cake for his birthday. My first reaction was, “Wait just a pound cake? Nothing in it? Swirls? Chocolate? Plain vanilla?!” After researching a few recipies, I realized that vanilla pound cake wasn’t actually all that boring after all! I tied my apron and set off to make the best birthday pound cake I could find.

delicious

I finally settled on a really simple recipie that ended up coming out amazingly well. Here’s the link to it. I was a little bit disappointed that the center of my pound cake fell through, but I guess trial and error will have to fix that for the next time!

details

I also found some pretty fancy pound cake recipes on Pinterest, if you’re feeling adventurous!
*Note* I do not own any of the pictures of the four pound cakes below. You can access the original sources and recipes by clicking on the pictures of following the links below the pictures!

pink lemonade copy

http://www.cdkitchen.com/recipes/recs/155/Pink-Lemonade-Pound-Cake98614.shtml

marble copy

http://www.thebakerchick.com/2013/02/marble-pound-cake/

strawberry swirl copy

http://www.thekitchenpaper.com/strawberry-swirl-pound-cake/

brown sugar copy

http://www.ladybehindthecurtain.com/brown-sugar-pound-cake/

Don’t they all look absolutely amazing?! I definitely want to try that brown sugar one soon, and maybe I’ll whip up the beautiful pink lemonade one as a fun treat later in the summer!

If you aren’t following me on Pinterest, you can find me here.

yumm

My dad was really happy with how the pound cake came out, and by the end of the night only half of the loaf was left! What’s your favorite cake to eat/ bake? As always, thanks so much for stopping by, and I hope you’re inspired to head into the kitchen and get cracking! Happy Baking!

9 responses to “Dad’s Birthday Pound Cake

  1. That pound cake looks amazing! So glad your dad liked it. Baked with love, and I’m sure that’s why it tasted great πŸ˜‰ I love fluffy blackforest cake. Or any kind of soft, fluffy cake with layers of cream in between…not too much cream, though πŸ˜€

Comment here!

